Call us on : 1-305-260-6455
Placeholder

Customer Forum

How do I add/remove users to/from a user group? How can I add/remove capabilities?

Workbooks Support Posted: 2011-03-15 16:41

How do I add/remove users to/from a user group?  How can I add/remove capabilities?

 

I want some users to be "power-users" that can do pretty much anything in Workbooks, but I also want other users to have access to less functionality.

Workbooks Support Posted: Tue, 15.03.2011 - 17:46

[Prerequisite: You need access to the Configuration > Users & Security menu options to perform the actions described in the following text.]

 

This is an important area of the system and there's some terminology to understand before you dive into this area of Workbooks:

  • Users - An employee of your company that uses Workbooks.
  • Capabilities - Determines the actions your Users can perform and the areas of the Workbooks system they have access to.
  • User Groups - User Groups form the link between Users and Capabilities.  Users inherit Capabilities via the User Group(s) they belong too.  If Users don't belong to User Groups that contain the required Capabilities they consist of Users and Capabilities.

 

Example 1:

You want to make a user a system administrator.

  • Navigate to StartConfiguration > Users & Security.
  • Users > Open the relevant user's record > 'Groups tab' > Add Group > tick the checkbox next to System Admin > Save & Close > 'Main' tab > Save & Close.
  • Alternatively, User Groups > locate and open System Admin > 'Users' tab > Add Users > tick the checkbox next to the relevant user(s) > Save & Close > 'Main tab' > Save & Close.

 

Example 2:

You want to restrict the access that some of your employees have to the System.

  • Navigate to StartConfiguration > Users & Security.
  • Users > Open the relevant user's record.
  • Review the Capabilities tab.  This shows you the current set of capabilities the user possesses.
    • NOTE:  Capabilities are granted via User Groups, not to the User directly.  This is why the "From Groups" column is important.  It shows you how the User has access to capabilities, which can, and often is via more than one User Group.
  • Pause for thought and decide whether or not you can use an existing User Group or if you need a new one.
  • Open an existing User Group or create a new one.
  • Add/Remove capabilities as required.
  • Add/Remove Users to the User Group as required.
  • Users need to log out and back again for the changes to take effect.