Call us on : 1-305-260-6455
Placeholder

Customer Forum

Reinstating a Deleted Record

Lucy (Workbooks Online) Posted: 2017-02-23 13:56

Most records in Workbooks can only be deleted by the Owner of the record or a System Admin, unless another user has been manually added to the sharing permissions. This is an important concept as deleting a record can have serious implications on your system.

What happens if you accidentally delete a record? Is there any way of getting it back?

In short, yes. However, it is not an easy task and could end up requiring our engineers to recreate the records (which would be chargeable). First, we would recommend that you check through the steps below to see if you have enough information to recreate the record yourself.

Reinstating Records Using Audit

If you have purchased the Audit module, you can recreate deleted records by examining the related audit data.

  1. Go to Start → Auditing. Here you will find all changes that have been made on your system.

  2. Therefore, click ‘Filters’ and filter for audits where the Action equals ‘delete’:

         audit.png

  1. It may also be helpful to use the following filters:

    • User name

    • Record type (was it a person record that was deleted? A sales lead?)

    • Date

  2. Once you have a consolidated list, examine the audit records by clicking on each row. Here you will find the name of the record that was deleted in the 'Description' field, and also the Object Reference of the deleted item:

           audit_delete_record.png

  1. Using this information you can manually recreate the record (for example, using the information above I would create a person called ‘Joe Bloggs’).

NOTE: When you delete a record such as a Person, any Notes associated with them will also be deleted. However, audit does not apply to Notes records, so you would be unable to recreate a Note through the audit method.

  1. Following on from this, you would also need to recreate any relationships that record had. For example, Joe Bloggs might have been an employee of an organisation on your system. Unfortunately, when you delete a person record, the deletion of their relationship to another party is not recorded on audit, so you would need to work out which organisations each person works for (using emails, LinkedIn etc.).

Alternatively, you could search for the audit record of when the relationship was created - filter for the following:

audit_records.png

           You can then look for an audit record with a similar descriptor to the below:

            joe_bloggs.png

NOTE: Be sure to look for the most recent audit record, as you could end up relating a person to an organisation they used to work for.

Reinstating Records if Audit is Unavailable

If you have not purchased the Audit module, there are two options available to you:

  1. Contact Workbooks Support. We can access our Beta database to find the record, and send you the details to be able to recreate it. This will depend on the time-frame however, as we clear down this database every Saturday.
  2. If we cannot find the record on Beta, then the only other option would be for our engineers to perform the change, which would be chargeable. You would then need to manually recreate all the relationships required to other records in your system.

What if the Records were Deleted through a Bulk Action?

Records that have been deleted through a bulk action can be retrieved, as long as you are within 30 days since the bulk action was carried out.

  1. Go to Start → Bulk Actions.
  2. Click on your bulk delete action record, and click the ‘Undo’ button at the top of the record.
  3. This will recreate all of your deleted records, any Notes associated with the record, and also all of the relationships the record had prior to the bulk delete.

If you cannot find the bulk action record, then either:

  1. It has been more than 30 days since you performed the bulk delete, in which case you cannot undo the changes made, or;
  2. You deleted the bulk action record (this does not undo the bulk action but instead deletes the record of it, meaning, as above, you cannot undo the changes made).

The next step would be to either use the Audit method, or get in contact with us for our engineers to carry out the change.