Knowledge Base

Browse our knowledge base articles to quickly solve your issue.



To display the Desktop without any open records click on the Close all windows icon in the black taskbar.

When you log in to Workbooks, the Workbooks Desktop will be displayed. Here you will see the Welcome Message (unless you have switched it off within Preferences), along with any Bulletin messages or Notifications you have received, a link to our Training Videos page, any records and/or Landing Pages you have marked as pinned to launch when logging in, and any Desktop Shortcuts you have created. To the right of the Search bar, there are two icons, one to Close all windows, the other to Show only the current window.

Start Menu

Clicking on Start start_button activates the Workbooks menu. From here you can:

  • See all the areas of Workbooks for which your System Administrator has granted you access Capabilities
  • Create new records
  • Search for records on your database
  • View recently opened records
  • Set your Preferences
  • Access Welcome Messages and Bulletins
  • Link to the Knowledge Base for more help
  • See information about which database you are using and which login you have used
  • Log out of the system


It is important that you can find the record(s) you need quickly and easily, and Workbooks includes a powerful Search capability for this purpose. You can search the entire database or limit your search to records of a specific type. Either click on the Search icon search_icon in the top left-hand corner of the desktop or type the name of what you want to find into the Search box in the taskbar.

The Search defaults to being a 'quick search', which will return all records that start with the search term you looked for. For example, if you search for 'Alan' you'll see all the records, regardless of record type, that start with the word Alan (and only those records), as shown below.

HubSpot Configuration

If you want to find records that contain your search term anywhere in their indexed fields you should carry out a full search. To do this remove the tick from the quick search checkbox and click the magnifying glass. The screenshot below illustrates the different search results that are returned when carrying out a full search.


Here you can reveal and hide columns in the Search Results section, this includes the Relevance column which is a numerical score provided by Workbooks to indicate the likely hood that the Record is the one searched for based on the search term used. You can also save the Search View so the same format is returned for every subsequent Search. It is also possible to sort by the Record Name and Object Reference columns some of the available columns in ascending and descending order.


Alternatively, you have the option to carry out a 'sounds like' search, which can be useful if you're unsure of the spelling of a name. For example, if you search for 'Alan Smith' using the 'sounds like' search, the results could include 'Alain Smith' or 'Alan Smyth', and searching for 'Leslie Kaye' could find 'Lesley Kay'.

Remember too that you can limit the type of records that are searched using the dropdown picklist next to 'within'.

NOTE: Each user can change the default behaviour of search within their Preferences by removing the tick from the checkbox next to Quick Search default.

By clicking on a search result the Record will open and the Search Results Window will be closed automatically. It is also possible to open the Record without closing the Search results window by using the Context Menu as seen below;


Personalising the Desktop

System Administrators can personalise the look of the Workbooks Desktop (and of printed output) by replacing the default Workbooks logo with an image of your choice. Click here to find out how. In addition, you can control which, if any, windows open automatically when you login, by 'pinning' Landing Pages and/or records using the pushpin symbol towards the top right-hand corner

Clicking on this symbol changes its appearance so it now looks like this and causes the Landing Page or record to open when you first login. 

NOTE: The window will appear the same size and in the same position as it was when you pinned it.  You can stop the window from opening on login by clicking on the pushpin again or by deleting the option from the My Pinned Windows section within Preferences.

Desktop Shortcuts

All Users can customise their Workbooks Desktop by creating shortcuts to specific Workbooks Records, Views on Landing Pages, or Reports. Clicking on the Record icon in the top left-hand corner of a Workbooks record will open a menu with a list of options. Select Add shortcut on the Desktop. This will now add an 'All People' icon shortcut to your Desktop.

All people

The Desktop icon will adopt the name of the Record, View or Report for which you are creating the shortcut. To remove any Desktop Shortcuts, right-click on the shortcut and select Remove Shortcut.

About Workbooks

Clicking Start > About gives the user useful information about the current Workbooks session. From this screen, you can find out the following information which is always useful for assisting the support team.

You can find the following information from here:

  • User information, including who you are logged in as, name and email address (1), plus information on which licences are allocated to that user (2). You can also see which User Groups the current user is in (3).
  • Account information such as the name of the account and database.You will also find the current database ID (4).
  • Licence information including the Workbooks licence and any extensions you may have purchased (5).
  • Session information including your current user id, customer id and which database server you are using (6).

About Workbooks

Workbooks Sessions

You can log into more than one Workbooks database at a time by using separate browsers or private browser windows for each session. Just be aware that as soon you try to log into another Workbooks database in the same browser instance one of your sessions will be cancelled and you will be unable to carry out further actions. 

Related content

Guidance on creating new databases, archiving existing databases and changing the Login Domain for a database.