Call us on : 1-305-260-6455
Placeholder

Knowledge Base

Browse our knowledge base articles to quickly solve your issue.

Disabling Users

Disabling User access from your Account

There is a best practice method for removing access to an account for a User. This will automatically remove their access from all Databases on that account. If you want to learn how to remove access to a specific Database, please click here

NOTE: It is also best practice that if a User is no longer going to use Workbooks you do not rename or delete their User account. Instead we suggest disabling the User using the method below and creating a new User following this guidance.

To remove someone's access from an account (for example, if someone has left your organisation) click Start > Configuration > Users & Security > Users to bring up a Landing Page showing all of the Users past and present:

List of Users

From this View, locate the User from whom you'd like to remove Workbooks access:

User details

The two highlighted sections show where the record needs to be updated. Untick the Login enabled checkbox and change the Allocated Edition to 'No Edition (login denied)'. 

NOTE: If you fail to unallocate any licences, these licences will not be free for use by other Users.

If the User has any Allocated Extensions, it will also be necessary to remove these, so that they can be allocated to other active Users, for example: Outlook Connector, Audit, etc.

Extensions

You have now fully deactivated your User. The User should appear in the Landing Page as shown below:

DisUseCor.png

More details on how to manage User licences more effectively, and keeping within the allocated limits, can be found in Licences & Modules or by clicking here.

Disabling User access to a specific Database

To remove someone's access to a particular Database, for example, a test Database, click Start > Configuration > Users & Security > Users to bring up a Landing Page showing all Users past and present. Select the User that Database access needs to be disabled for, then click on the Database tab which will show all Databases they have access to:

Accessible Databases

Against each Database is a red circle with a white cross. Clicking this will disable access to that particular Database. Once clicked, you will be asked to confirm the action:

Remove Access confirmation

Access to the Database will be removed immediately.

NOTE: As shown in the screenshot above, removing a User's access from a Database will cause all records that are currently assigned to them to become unassigned. This cannot be undone.

Related content

A list of actions you can do within the Users & Security area of the Configuration Landing Page.

An overview of what 'Users' are and what control you have over what they can see/do in Workbooks.

How to set up new users, including what information is required, assigning them to an Own Organisation, adding to user groups and controlling which database(s) they access.