- Permissions

Permissions

All individual records (objects) in Workbooks have a set of Sharing Permissions which control who can view and modify that record.  When you create a new record, the Permissions it is given are a function of the Sharing Policies and Mandatory permissions in place at that time.

When your Workbooks account is originally created it's given a set of Sharing Policies which, by default, are open and allow the majority of Users to see the majority of records.  However, you can configure the Sharing Policies to best suit your business needs.

You can see the Sharing Permissions applied to a record by clicking on the padlock icon in the top right-hand corner of the record.  The Sharing Permissions will look something like this:

permissions_2

In this example, we can see that the Permissions for this Sales Lead are:

  • Users in the Everyone group have Read and Modify access;
  • The Owner of the record (in this case, Workbooks Demo Admin) has Read, Modify, Delete, Change Owner and Change Permissions access;
  • Users in the System Administrator group have has Read, Modify, Delete, Change Owner and Change Permissions access.

A User with Change Permissions access for a record can edit the permissions, either widening access to other Users or removing access, thus Permissions can be used to restrict access to records to individual Users or to User Groups.

For example, if I create a new Note it is created with the following Permissions:

permissions_3

This means:

  • Users in the Everyone group have Read and Modify access;
  • The Owner of the Note and Users in the System Administrator group have full access.

If I now want to remove access from the Everyone group and give access to a group called Managers, I can achieve this by clicking the Edit button and changing the Permissions, as shown in the first screenshot below, resulting in the second screenshot:

permissions_4

With these new Permissions all Users in the Manager group (as well as the Owner and System Administrators) will have access to Read and Modify this record but Users in the Everyone group will not.

NOTEThe Permissions have only been changed for this Note record; the Permission of all other Notes in the system will remain unchanged.

Using Capabilities & Permissions

Capabilities and Permissions combine to control security access across Workbooks.  They provide a very flexible framework to enable you to build a security policy which best supports your business needs.

For example, if a User has the View CRM Sales Leads and Modify CRM Sales Leads Capabilities they will be able to:

Having the View CRM Sales Leads capability does NOT necessarily enable a User to see ALL Sales Leads, only those which they have permission to view.

NOTE:  It's possible to create a scenario where a User has no Capability to view Sales Leads but Sales Lead appear in their search results.  This is because the permissions set on the Sales Leads in the search results give the user access.  This may happen if a User specifically gives sharing permission to that User, or your Sharing Policies are not correctly configured.