Setting up your Users
Make sure you use the correct email address for the User otherwise other areas won't work properly, such as Notifications and Dropbox.
- Own Organisations (this will only be visible if you've set up more than one Own Organisation)
Complete the New User record as follows:
This will be defaulted to New User so remember to overtype this with the User's correct name.
This checkbox will be ticked by default, which means that when you've completed and saved the new User's record, they will be sent an activation email. If you don't want an email to be sent, remove the tick, but remember to return to the record to tick the checkbox later so that the User can validate their details, and login to Workbooks. If a User leaves your organisation you will want to disable their login by removing the tick from this box.
Complete this field with the User's email address, which they will use as part of their login credentials. Ensure that an email account for the User has been set up before you try to create a Workbooks login for them, otherwise they cannot receive the activation email.
For security reasons, the activation email sent to new Users does not include their password. You will need to supply that separately. You can control how a password is formatted within Account Settings > Password Policy. By default Workbooks forces new Users to change their password when they first login. If you don't want Users to have to change their password, remove the tick from the checkbox next to 'Change at next login'.
NOTE: You can prevent individual Users from having to change their password frequently (depending on your Password Policy) by checking the 'Exempt from Password Expiry' box. We do not recommend this as a general option but it can be helpful for API client Users.
Choose the appropriate timezone for the User from the dropdown picklist.
Use the dropdown picklist next to Allocated Edition to select the edition you want this User to have. If all your purchased licences are already allocated to other enabled Users, you will receive a Warning when you try to save the User record. You will need to remove a licence from another User, by setting their Allocated Edition to 'No Edition (login denied)', in order to 'free up' a licence for your new User. More details on how to manage User licences more effectively, and keeping within the allocated limits, can be found in Licences & Modules.
Any available Extensions (such as Customer Contracts and Outlook Connector) will show in the grid. Tick the check box next to any that you want this User to have. As with Editions, if all your purchased Extensions are already fully allocated to other enabled Users you will need to remove the Extension from an existing User in order to grant the Extension to your new User.
If your account contains only one Own Organisation the User will automatically be associated with that Own Organisation. If, however, more than one has been set up, there will be an Own Organisations tab on a User record. You must associate the User with one or more Own Organisations by opening the Own Organisations tab and clicking the 'Add Own Organisation' button. Having done that, you must use the dropdown picklist next to Default Own Organisation to set the default for that User. Individual Users can change this default within their Preferences settings, if required.
Assigning Users to an Own Organisation enables them to create transactions for those Organisations, as well as creating Customer and Supplier agreements, as long as they have the appropriate Capabilities to carry out those processes. Some Users (such as the Accountant and the System Administrator) will need to be associated with more than one Own Organisation for practical reasons.
NOTE: Users assigned to just one Own Organisation will not be aware of any other Own Organisations and will only have permission to use the tax codes and currencies of their Own Organisation.
Workbooks is supplied with several User Groups already configured, covering a range of job roles. By default, a new User is assigned to the Everyone group. You can add the User to other groups by clicking 'Add Group'.
To make a User a System Admin, they must be added to the 'System Admin' User Group. This will give them every possible Capability, full access to every record, full access to every Record Type and have full permissions to change anything, including Configuration. We advise that the number of System Admins per account is restricted.
This tab shows the Capabilities granted to the User (as a result of their membership of particular groups). To grant more Capabilities you need to assign the User to more groups. Some Capabilities will be common to more than one User Group so if you decide to remove a User from a group in order to remove specific Capabilities, they may still have those Capabilities by virtue of belonging to a different group or groups.
If you create more than one Database, you can control which Database(s) a User has access to within the Databases tab. To give a User access to a Database, click 'Add Database' and choose the appropriate Database from the dropdown picklist next to 'Grant access to'. If you want to restrict the time period for which the User has access you can enter dates and times in the 'Valid from' and 'Valid until' fields.
Granting a User access to other Databases does not add them to the same groups in those other Databases, ie, group membership is specific to each Database. This means that a User can have wide-ranging functionality in one Database and limited functionality in another.
***NOTE: If you upgrade any licences from the CRM to the Business edition but do not immediately allocate your new licences, Users will see a warning message when logging in saying that the licences must be reallocated (by the System Administrator). This message will appear for a 2-week period after the expiry of the original licences. Until this reallocation has taken place, the Users will still have access to their original CRM licence. At the end of the 2-week period, if the licences have not been reallocated, the Users will no longer be able to login.